Copy of About

The creator behind Mustélidée

My name is Camille, I am based in Paris, and originally from southern Ardèche.
I started creating and selling jewelry in 2017.
I thoroughly enjoy crafting with my hands, especially creating intricate pieces, such as painting miniatures or crafting jewelry!
I take great pleasure in designing models to wear myself and offering them to you on my website!

Otters & the IOSF

As a passionate otter enthusiast, my visual identity subtly reflects this ;) Since the beginning, I have wanted to involve you in the protection of the 13 otter species through your orders.

For this reason, every piece of jewelry purchased generates a donation of 1€ to one of the leading international associations dedicated to the protection and conservation of various otter species: the IOSF (International Otter Survival Fund).

 

Jewelry creation

I craft the vast majority of jewelry on demand, aiming to personalize them to suit you perfectly and avoid unnecessary surplus production.

I also regularly offer unique models: jewelry created in a single piece, making you a unique individual with one-of-a-kind pieces!

Materials

I work with several component suppliers, mainly based in France, Europe, Turkey, or China. I only offer gold-plated jewelry for sale. All components are nickel-free.

In each product sheet, you will find details about the materials composing the jewelry. This ranges from 24k gold plating to 14k gold-filled, as well as stainless steel.

I don't use the same coatings for all jewelry models to offer you different price ranges (since I started creating jewelry in 2017, the price of components containing gold has doubled!). I try to adhere to the logic of jewelry use: a ring or a non-removable ear-cuff needs to be more robust to avoid tarnishing, while a pair of earrings will be much less exposed to external elements and can therefore be made from a slightly less precious material.

Short guide to the various gold coatings used at Mustélidée

Gold mining, the process of extracting gold, is a labor-intensive activity with harmful ecological consequences. Nowadays, many jewelry component suppliers work with recycled gold.

From the most to the least resistant, we find:

  • Gold Filled 14k is an alloy originating from the USA, containing a significant amount of 14k gold, making it highly resistant to external elements. Personally, the Gold Filled jewelry that I never take off is definitely the ones that show very little, if any, signs of tarnishing.
  • Gold Plating 3 microns: In France, gold-plating refers to a jewelry item on which a layer of gold, minimum 3 microns thick, has been applied. Gold-plating makes jewelry durable, but over years of daily wear, the coating may eventually tarnish.
  • Stainless steel: within this category, there are many differences in quality. Overall, it combines quality with a lower price compared to components containing real gold. The stainless steel chains I use are of very good quality. However, some stainless steel components may require more care than others.
  • 24k gold-plated (fine gold plating): it is THE budget-friendly coating! Indeed, the raw material (usually brass) is coated with a thin layer of gold, ranging from 0.5 to <3 microns. Depending on this value and the plating techniques used, it can result in low-quality components or very satisfactory ones! Of course, I strive to avoid suppliers whose quality is not up to par and prefer those whose components have proven themselves to me, with special care, of course, given to these jewelry pieces. Gold-plated jewelry should not come into regular contact with water; they should be stored away from damp areas, in a dry room, preferably in their original box or pouch. They should be removed in case of excessive sweating, and avoid applying cosmetic products on top (perfumes, lotions). In short, take the utmost care!

In summary, it's essential to take care of your jewelry in all cases. Some are waterproof, while others are not. Seawater or chlorine from pools remains harsh on all gold-plated jewelry that is not solid gold. The skin's pH, varying from person to person, can also affect the preservation of gold coatings. Storing them away from light and water, in the Mustélidée pouch, will guarantee a long lifespan for your jewelry! By following these few precautions, you can keep your jewelry intact for years.

Repair

If you happen to break your Mustélidée jewelry, don't hesitate to let us know; there's a good chance we can repair it (provided that the necessary components are still available)! To do so, simply return the jewelry to us for repair.

For any exchanges or returns of your order, please refer to the Refund Policy for details, and submit your request via the Contact Form or by email at contact@mustelidee.com

À propos

La créatrice derrière Mustélidée

Je m'appelle Camille, je suis basée à Paris et originaire du sud de l'Ardèche.
J'ai commencé la création et vente de bijoux en 2017.
J'aime beaucoup créer de mes mains, et plus particulièrement de petites choses minutieuses, comme la peinture de miniatures, ou des bijoux !
Je prends beaucoup de plaisir à créer des modèles pour les porter, et vous les proposer sur mon site !

Les loutres & l'IOSF 

Passionnée de loutres, mon identité visuelle en témoignant - sobrement ;), j'ai depuis le début souhaité vous impliquer dans la protection des 13 espèces de loutres à travers vos commandes.

Pour cela, chaque bijou acheté génère un don de 1€ à l'une des principales association internationale dédiée à la protection et conservation des différentes espèces de loutres : l'IOSF (International Otter Survival Fund).

 

La création de bijoux

Je confectionne la grande majorité des bijoux sur commande, cela afin de les personnaliser un maximum afin qu'ils vous conviennent parfaitement, et éviter un surplus de production inutile.

Je propose aussi régulièrement des modèles uniques : des bijoux créés en un seul exemplaire, pour faire de vous une personne unique avec des pièces uniques !

Matériaux

Je travaille avec plusieurs fournisseurs de composants, majoritairement basés en France, Europe, Turquie ou Chine. Je ne propose que des bijoux dorés à la vente. Les composants sont tous sans nickel.

Dans chaque fiche produit, vous retrouverez le détail des matières composants le bijou. Cela va de la dorure à l'or fin 24k, au Gold filled 14k (or laminé), en passant par l'acier inoxydable.

Je n'utilise pas les mêmes revêtements selon les modèles de bijoux afin de pouvoir vous proposer différentes gammes de prix (depuis que j'ai commencé la création de bijoux en 2017, le prix des composants contenant de l'or a doublé), et j'essaie de respecter la logique de l'utilisation du bijou : une bague ou un faux piercing qu'on ne retire pas aura davantage besoin d'être robuste afin de ne pas s'altérer, tandis qu'une paire de boucles d'oreilles sera beaucoup moins sollicitée par les éléments extérieurs et peut donc être dans une matière légèrement moins noble.

Petit guide des différents revêtements en or utilisés chez Mustélidée

L'orpaillage (la récolte de l'or) est un travail dont les répercussions écologiques sont néfastes. Aujourd'hui, beaucoup de fournisseurs de composants à bijoux travaillent avec de l'or recyclé.

Du plus au moins résistant, on retrouve :

  • Le Gold Filled 14k (or laminé) est un alliage venant des USA, contenant une grande partie d'or 14k, et le rendant ainsi très peu sensible aux éléments extérieurs. A titre personnel, les bijoux en Gold Filled que je ne retire jamais sont définitivement ceux qui s'altèrent très peu, voire pas du tout.
  •  Le plaqué or 3 microns : un plaqué or, en France, est un bijou sur lequel une couche d'or de minimum 3 microns a été apposée. Attention, beaucoup de boutiques jouent sur les mots en appelant des bijoux "dorés à l'or fin" des bijoux "plaqués or" ! Ce n'est pas la même chose ! Le vrai plaqué or rendent les bijoux résistants, mais au fil des années de port quotidien, le revêtement finira pas s'altérer.
  • L'acier inoxydable : il existe dans cette catégorie de nombreuses différences de qualité. Globalement, il allie qualité et prix inférieur aux composants contenant de l'or. Les chaînes en acier inoxydable que j'utilise sont de très bonne qualité. Certains composants en acier nécessitent cependant parfois plus de précaution que d'autres.
  • La dorure à l'or fin : c'est LE revêtement bon-marché ! En effet, la matière première (généralement le laiton), est recouverte d'une fine couche d'or, allant de 0,5 à <3 microns. Selon cette valeur et les techniques utilisées pour le plaquage, cela peut donner des composants bas de gamme, ou très satisfaisants ! Évidemment, je m'efforce de bannir les fournisseurs dont la qualité n'est pas au rendez-vous et privilégie ceux dont les composants ont fait leur preuve pour moi, avec évidemment un soin tout particulier à apporter à ces bijoux. Les bijoux dorés à l'or fin ne doivent pas entrer en contact régulier avec l'eau, ils sont à ranger loin des endroits humides, dans une pièce sèche et si possible dans une boîte ou leur pochon d'origine. Il faut les retirer en cas de transpiration excessive, ne pas appliquer de produits cosmétiques par dessus (parfums, lotions). En bref, en prendre le plus grand soin !

En résumé, il convient dans tous les cas de prendre soin de ses bijoux. Certains sont waterproof, d'autres non. L'eau de mer ou encore le chlore des piscines restent des éléments agressifs pour tous les bijoux dorés qui ne sont pas en or massif. Le pH de la peau, variant d'une personne à l'autre, pourra aussi jouer sur la conservation des revêtements dorés. Le rangement à l'abri de la lumière et de l'eau, dans le pochon Mustélidée, vous garantira un longue durée de vie du bijou ! En suivant ces quelques précautions, vous pourrez garder vos bijoux intacts des années.

Réparation

Si vous cassez votre bijou Mustélidée, n'hésitez pas à nous le faire savoir, il y a de grandes chances que nous puissions le réparer (sous réserve que les éventuels composants à changer soient encore disponibles) ! Pour cela, il vous suffira de nous retourner le bijou pour réparation.

Pour tout échange ou retour de votre commande, veuillez vous reporter à la Politique de remboursement pour les modalités, et formulez votre demande via le Formulaire de contact ou par mail à contact@mustelidee.com